Reckless Driving Attorney in Washington
Washington State Reckless Driving Laws
Reckless driving in Washington State is much more than a traffic infraction—it is a criminal offense. Drivers charged with reckless driving may be convicted of this gross misdemeanor if the jury decides the “elements” have been proven “beyond a reasonable doubt.” If you have been charged with reckless driving, you should speak with an experienced and knowledgeable Washington traffic attorney as soon as possible.
What is Reckless Driving?
To be convicted of Reckless Driving in Washington State, the prosecution must prove the following:
- That the suspect drove their vehicle with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
- This may include speeding excessively, but often, speed alone is not grounds for a conviction.
- There must be more than mere speed unless the speeding actually jeopardized the safety of nearby motorists, pedestrians, or property.
What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving?
- The penalty for a reckless driving conviction is a maximum of 364 days in jail, and/or a maximum $5,000 fine.
- The Department of Licensing will suspend the person’s license for a period of 30 days.
- To reinstate their license, the person will be required to pay a reinstatement fee and maintain SR-22 insurance for three years.
- A six-month ignition interlock restriction may also be imposed, but only if the reckless driving conviction was originally charged as a DUI, and the person has a “prior offense” under the DUI laws.
If you have been charged with a Reckless Driving in Washington, We Can Help.
Being charged with a crime causes anxiety due to the uncertainty of what will happen next. You may be asking yourself, will I have to go to jail? Pay a hefty fine? Attend defensive driving school? Will my job be affected?
Callahan Law, P.S., Inc. is here to help. Our team of experienced traffic defense attorneys will provide you with a free consultation to answer your questions about your unique situation. Given the penalties, insurance increases, and the reality that most employers look down upon a bad driving record and criminal history, you should consider speaking to us about your case.
Once you have chosen us to fight for you, we will aggressively investigate the evidence to determine the best strategy to win the case. Having a skilled and respected defense attorney gives you the best possible means of getting the charge dismissed, or negotiated with the prosecutor, such that it may end up as a less serious violation, or even a dismissal. If your case goes to trial, we will do our best to win your case, and although we cannot promise a specific outcome, we can promise to bring all of our knowledge, skill and experience to your defense.
To speak with a member of our legal team and tell us your story in confidence, call us at (206) 866-6739 or fill out the form below.