Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence in the Kitsap Peninsula areas of Bremerton, Silverdale or Port Orchard?
If so, you may be surprised to learn that the state of Washington has the toughest DUI laws in the nation, which are strictly enforced by the Kitsap County courts.
You may be shocked this could happen to you–a person who is against drunk driving.
Many in your position experience feelings of defeat, anxiety, and humiliation.
We understand. And, as we have done for others, we can quickly help you get to a better place where you can feel good about yourself again.
We have the know-how, experience, and comprehensive approach needed to help you get to that place, as well as to fight for a favorable outcome for you in court and the Department of Licensing.
In Washington, driving under the influence penalties include jail time and hefty fines if you are convicted of DUI.
You will also lose your driver’s license and must have an ignition interlock device on your car at your own expense.
You will have to be evaluated for chemical dependency and attend alcohol education classes or receive more intensive treatment-even if it is your first Washington DUI conviction.
If it is a second or subsequent offense, the penalties are much harsher, and the prosecutors and judges are rarely inclined to leniency.
A fifth DUI conviction is a felony, which means prison time for most offenders.
Aside from the legal punishment, other consequences of a DUI conviction may seriously affect your life, long after you have served your DUI sentence.
If your current employer finds out about your conviction, you may lose your job.
Also, since a DUI conviction will show up on your criminal record, anyone who checks your background will see it.
With mandatory background checks becoming more common for employers, housing providers, lenders, and even educational institutions, a DUI conviction can seriously jeopardize your future opportunities.
After arresting you for DUI, the officer is required to fax his report to the department of licensing (DOL), so they can place the arrest on your driver’s abstract and send you notice of the date you must stop driving.
If you took a breath test and blew over the limit, or if you refused to blow, your license is not in temporary status and will be suspended or revoked 30 days from the date of your arrest.
If your blood was drawn, the timing may differ; give us a call and we can explain what you need to know.
You may request a telephonic hearing to contest DOL taking an administrative action against your license, but you must have the request postmarked within 7 days of your arrest.
We do not recommend that you request the hearing online. Please call so that we can explain why.
In lieu of the hearing, or if you have had your hearing and lost it, you may apply for a temporary restricted license that lets you drive during the suspension/revocation.
There are a number of things that will take time for you to complete before you apply. Give us a call and we can point you in the right direction to get it all done so that you do not miss a day without a valid license.
Since the consequences of a DUI conviction in Washington are quite severe, it is important to find a lawyer who has mastered DUI defense.
Attorney Linda M. Callahan, the widely respected author of the acclaimed legal treatise on DUI in Washington, the Washington DUI Practice Manual, has the knowledge and experience to fight your DUI.
She battled the toughest DUI legislation ever enacted in Washington-all the way to the Supreme Court. In a landmark case, she argued that judges should retain the power to exclude breath test evidence at trial, and as a result, judges have retained that power and thousands of unreliable breath tests have been excluded statewide due to her efforts.
Don’t let one event jeopardize your whole future. Even good people have bad days. Let us help you through this, so that you can to get back to your normal again.
Our Team of Attorneys and Paralegals have over 30 years of combined experience. We know the law and understand how to apply it to your case.
Focused on You
We create a custom defense for every client. Not all cases are the same and we know that. Your concerns and goals are our top priority.
As a long time author and speaker Ms. Callahan is respected across the county for her trial skills and investigative knowledge. He reputation proceeds herself when appearing in court.
plan of action
Washington State has some of the toughest DUI laws in our nation. These laws carry increasingly severe penalties for those who drink and drive. Washington lowered the BAC limit from .10 to 0.08 in January of 1999. Drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) at .08 or above can now be convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol. In addition, because public sentiment is so very negative toward drunk drivers, prosecutors will often pursue a DUI conviction even when the driver’s test result is well under .08! This is possible because they can obtain a conviction if they can show the person drove while “affected by” alcohol, and/or marijuana or any drug, including prescription or over-the-counter medications.
Avoid Serious Penalties
Learn how we win DUI Cases every day.
Win your DOL Hearing or Drive Legally
Contact us today for a 100% Free Consultation
Complete the form below and our Intake Team will contact you shortly.